To be accepted by Allah ﷻ

All praise is due to Allah ﷻ, Lord of the worlds and May His peace and blessings be upon His final prophet and messenger, Muhammad ﷺ.

Subhanallah! I came across this today and had to share. Bought tears to my eyes. May Allah ﷻ accept all of us. Ameen.

HAVE HOPE IN THE MERCY OF ALLAH ﷻ – never stop praying – My Story.

My 67 year old father spent his life as a British non-Muslim. He sadly passed away in January 2016 from Cancer. Alhamdulillah I, his only child, was shown the light of Islam, the Haqq, 12 years ago. Sometime ago, when he was told by medics that nothing further could be done, I felt the huge need to speak to him about deen, praying that Allah ﷻ would open his heart. I had always included my parents in my duas – imagine how hard it is for us reverts to know those who raised and nurtured us are devoid from the peace and tranquillity that Islam instils in us – and that they may be excluded from the wonders we are told await us in Jannah (should we attain it, through Allah ﷻ’s blessings alone).

I asked Allah ﷻ for the courage to approach the topic, aware of dad expressing he didn’t even want to think or talk about death. He was a closed book and very private. I asked Allah ﷻ to give me the appropriate words and remove any impediment from my speech, to help me through good character to show him Islam is not the harsh, oppressive and militant faith as wrongly seen by many non-Muslims.  We talked – he listened openly. I told dad I’ll return back to the conversation when ‘his time comes’ and he agreed. Dad had broadly Christian beliefs although not practising, he believed in One God.

I received a call from the hospital in Manchester some months later saying dad had been admitted and not expected to last the night. It was expected, he’d lost his appetite, was sleeping a lot and in acute pain – also suffering from other undignified issues symptomatic of his illness.

I made 2 rakat and rushed alone to the hospital, praying I was afforded the opportunity to speak to him one last time. Partially for selfish reasons – how could I live with myself thereafter if I had ‘bottled it’ – losing my nerve and final opportunity to invite Dad to become Muslim.

Alhumdulillah I made it and had to ask relatives and doctors for five minutes privacy with him.  I was frightened everyone would think it highly unethical to put pressure on a dying man, but I had to pray and trust in Allah ﷻ that he would find a way. Allah ﷻ had never ever let me down, He loves it when we call upon Him in need.

Dad was distressed, I held his hand and thanked him for being a wonderful Dad and I talked to him about death. I said if he wanted to stay and try and fight it, that’s ok and if he wanted to let go, that’s okay too, as Allah has prepared a beautiful place away from the pain and suffering of the world, where we can all be together and that all he had to do was believe – in one God and His Prophet’s and I named Moses and Jesus and citing Prophet Muhammad ﷺ as the last and final messenger.  Dad had on an oxygen mask and was in and out of consciousness, so Allah put in my heart to say ‘You believe Dad don’t you?’, thus he could affirm in his heart what I was saying. I repeatedly recited shahada in English and Arabic and Dad had settled and looked at peace. After about fifteen minutes the doctors confirmed his passing.

So Dad died, I was left feeling elated instead of sad, which shocked me, but in my heart I had an overwhelming feeling Dad died with Imaan. I prayed rakat after rakat asking for signs, so I could know what to do next. Could I pray for him? Could he have a janazah?  Etc. etc.  Then the signs came.

Firstly the hospital said he’d need a post mortem which I was unhappy about.  Alhamdulillah the Coroner overruled them and Dad was not put through this experience.

The family wanted Dad cremated in Manchester (like his own parents) but when we found his will, he hadn’t specified a preference, so I was able to request a burial being the legal next of kin.

An insightful and wise sister (may Allah ﷻ reward her) suggested I should have Dad buried in Dewsbury, where I live. In the Muslim section. It sounds obvious, but imagine the barriers for a quietly spoken lone female to go against the grain and suggest such a thing to Dad’s family, all non-Muslim. Remarkably and only through the will and Mercy of Allah ﷻ, they agreed.  Bearing in mind I myself had no proof of Dad taking an audible shahada, just a strong positive feeling – but I could see Allah ﷻ was removing obstacles and making the impossible unfold before me, answering my istikharah.

So alhamdulillah Dad had janazah and is buried as a Muslim. Without ever having fasted or prayed and it is the most humbling experience to feel that this is a Mercy to me, removing that eternal worry about my Dad’s akhirah.

But the story doesn’t end there.

A few weeks later, my husband when to tend to Dad’s grave. To the immediate right of Dad’s grave were several mourners, upon asking, he was told that the notable luminary the Respected Hafiz Sahib Patel had been buried there. Not logical as their janazah’s had been 6 weeks apart and the plots in front, to the side and even behind had been filled. So, to me, that was my proof of Allah ﷻ’s acceptance.

Although my Dad did not have the years of dedicated service to Islam, the years’ worth of inspiring others so wonderfully, and the other tremendous virtuous act’s, the two are immediate neighbours in their resting places. I have hope Dad died sinless (as a new Muslim). Please make dua both, Hafiz Sahib and my Dad, enter Jannatul firdous without reckoning. Ameen.

Please can I ask a small favour to anyone visiting Hafez Sahib’s graveside, please also say a prayer for my Dad, Michael, and pray Allah ﷻ guides all our loved ones to Islam and keeps us on the straight path. Ameen thumma ameen. Revert sister (Dewsbury)

Allah ﷻ says in His glorious Qur’aan;

And Allah ﷻ invites to the Home of Peace (i.e. Paradise- A place free from sorrow, calamities, losses or troubles) and guides whom He wills to a straight path.

10:25

All praise is due to Allah ﷻ at the beginning and at the end.

May you be rewarded for visiting my page and we all benefit. Ameen.

The Katibah.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. IsmailSatia
    Mar 20, 2016 @ 18:24:32

    Ameen!

    Absoutely fantabulous!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Anon
    Mar 25, 2016 @ 13:27:24

    SubhanAllah….so beautiful

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. Anon
    Mar 25, 2016 @ 13:29:15

    SubhanAllah…. Ameen

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2016
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 10,445 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 98 other followers

